‘Monologue Madness’ Names its 32 Actors Competing on Championship Sunday 4/7/13


Here’s the list of this year’s Top 32 actors who will compete on Championship 2013 Sunday
Sunday, April 7, 2013, 6pm-8pm
The Miracle Theatre, Washington, DC

John C. Bailey
Katie Culligan
Leslie Olabisi
Chelsea Townsend
Blair Bowers
Jjana Valentiner
Joel Snyder
Shelby Sours
Karina Hilleard
Josh Sticklin
Jordana Rosenfeld
Whitney St. Ours
AJ Calbert
Karen Romero
Emily Kester
Shashone Lambert
Sarah Marsden
Sean Pedersen
Barry Moton
Anissa Parekh
Elana Michelle
Shaina Lynn
Thomas Beheler
Kashayna Johnson
Kathleen Alvania
William Hayes
Meredith Richard
Katja Volker
Ezgi Acur
Rachel Manteuffel
Doug Graupman
Tony Strowd

*Alexander Rafala
*Obinna Nwachukwu
*Ahmad Helmy

The District’s hottest performance competition is back! Monologue Madness returns for it’s third competition after two sold­out shows in 2011 and 2012. The DC area’s best theatre & film will actors battle for over $1000 in cash & prizes.

Perhaps more importantly to the actors, they will all have a chance
to be seen by a diverse group of the areas best casting agents and artistic directors.

In response to DC’s lack of theatre showcases, such as New York City’s Manhattan Monologue Slam, Monologue Madness headlines a night of entertaining fun for both actor and audience. As designed by producer Edward Daniels, Monologue Madness is modeled after the NCAA Tournament bracket system. Monologue Madness is a competition featuring the area’s best and hungriest performers. Preparing their absolute best material, these eager thespians battle head­to­head in hopes of winning a $1000 grand prize.

The Monologue Madness competition takes place over two days. Open call auditions take place on March 10th Selection Sunday, from which 32 performers will be chosen to strut their stuff for the April 7th Competition Sunday. The auditions are being held at Renaissance Arlington Capital View.

Competition Sunday will include four rounds of bracketed competition. The first three rounds will feature pieces chose and prepped by the actors.

Round 1: Comedy! All 32 chosen actors present their best one­minute comedic monologue. Make ‘em laugh, or go home early.

Round 2: 16 actors bring the gravitas for the Drama round! Hankies optional!

Round 3: The top 8 Actors rock it old school in the CLASSICAL round. THERE WILL BE SHAKESPEARE.

Round 4: THE FINALS. The top four actors return for one more round. And this one’s a MYSTERY.

This year’s competition judges are some of the finest actors, directors and casting agents in the region:

The March 10th Open Call Auditions was judged by:
Actor/Director Sean Allen Pratt
Artistic Director of Washington Shakespeare Company ­ Avant Bard Christopher Henley
Artistic Director of No Rules Theatre Joshua Morgan

The April 7th Competition will feature judges:
Director of Performing Arts Training Studio Denise J. Hart
Representing Footlights Theatre Group, Diane Carroad
Director Stevie Zimmerman
Actor and Director Stefan Sittig
Actor Michael Replogle
Casting Agent Betsy Royall

The winning actor will receive $1000, in addition to other prizes. All 32 actors will receive prize packages. Prize details will be updated online

Date/Time: Sunday, April 7th, 2013 6-8 pm
Location: The Miracle Theatre
Address: 535 8th Street SE, Washington, DC 20003
Nearest Metro: Eastern Market Station

Tickets: $15.00
Competition website.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here