Quotidian Theatre Company Presents Audrey Cefaly’s ‘Maytag Virgin’ October 2-November 1st As Part of the Women’s Voices Theater Festival

0
0

Quotidian Theatre Company Presents Audrey Cefaly’s New Southern Drama Maytag Virgin as Part of D.C.’s Women’s Voices Theater Festival

02f079e5-d004-46f1-bc91-71bbfa882671

Quotidian Theatre Company kicks off its dynamic 2016 season, and its participation in the Washington, DC Women’s Voice Theater Festival, with the world premiere of playwright Audrey Cefaly’s newest work, Maytag Virgin.

This play marks the second time Cefaly has paired with Quotidian since the debut of her original work Mill Town Girls in 2007. Quotidian has long supported Cefaly’s work, whose play The Gulf recently won the Samuel French Off-Off Broadway Short Play Festival and will be published and licensed by Samuel French later this year.

Cefaly’s southern stories (The Gulf, Fin and Euba, Mill Town Girls, Maytag Virgin) are richly-layered and distilled, and her directing style focuses on the intimate connections within her character-driven narratives. “I strive to create dialogue that is free from noise,” said Cefaly. “Silence is good. It’s necessary. But, there is a misconception that if there’s no one speaking, then there’s nothing happening. I’m trying to change that mindset, and tell the fullest story I can tell.”

Maytag Virgin follows Alabama school teacher Lizzy Nash (Gillian Shelly) and her new neighbor Jack Key (Will Hardy) over the year following the tragic death of Lizzy’s husband. The play explores the ideas of inertia and self-enlightenment and the bridge between the two.

Maytag Virgin opens October 2, 2015 at the Writer’s Center in Bethesda, MD, and runs weekends through November 2, 2015. There will also be a reading of the piece at the Kennedy Center’s Page-to-Stage Festival on September 5, 2015 at 2:30 pm.

Maytag_Virgin_200x200

Full Performance Schedule
Thurs, October 1, 8pm
$10 Preview – Pay cash at the door.

Fri, October 2, 8 pm
Sat, October 3, 8 pm
Sun, October 4, 2 pm

Thurs, October 8, 8 pm
Sat, October 10, 2 pm
Sat, October 10, 8 pm
Sun, October 11, 2 pm

Fri, October 16, 8 pm
Sat, October 17, 8 pm
Sun, October 18, 2 pm

Fri, October 2, 8 pm
Sat, October 3, 8 pm
Sun, October 4, 2 pm

Fri, October 23, 8 pm
Sat, October 24, 8 pm
Sun, October 25, 2 pm

Fri, October 30, 8 pm
Sat, October 31, 2 pm
Sat, October 31, 8 pm
Sun, November 1, 2 pm

Maytag Virgin plays from October 2-November 1, 2015 at Quotidian Theatre performing at The Writer’s Center – 4508 Walsh Street, in Bethesda, MD‎. For tickets, call the box office (301) 816-1023, or purchase them online .

10991289_900368913317385_8132137756666837264_nOur mission at Quotidian Theatre Company is to find truth and beauty in the everyday, presenting plays in an understated, impressionistic style. We are proud to be the Resident Theater Company at our performance space, The Writer’s Center in Bethesda.